PEOPLE/nick ramm


Sydney born musician Nick Ramm grew up playing recorder, guitar, violin and piano. Later he would play percussion, flute, melodyhorn and bass guitar. Son of musical eclectic and renowned educator Dave Ramm, Nick obtained a degree in music and mathematics and then he attended the Guildhall School of Music and Drama where he studied under Simon Purcell, John Taylor and Bosco De Oliviera. He would perform as keyboardist/pianist with Byron Wallen's Sound Advice, Jim Mullen, Dennis Rollins, Martin Speak, The Expendables, Bembe Segue, Marcina Arnold, Matthew Herbert and Acoustic Ladyland.

An original member of Timeline, a rhythm and groove based collective learning ensemble formed of Dave Okumu, Tom Herbert, Leo Taylor, Barak Schmool, Ivan Ormond and Ramm, a band who released the album 'Know Hope', he also recorded an album 'Little Green Man' with his own trio Quota alongside Gary Willcox and Jeremy Brown. In its later years Quota would feature Tom Skinner.

Different combinations of these musicians would, over the years, form the core of many of the aforementioned bands and also other F-IRE projects like Roots Of Unity, Bullies Ballerinas, Meta Meta, Synergy and the F-IRE Collective Large Ensemble. These groups played all over Europe, in Syria, Latvia, Libya, Russia and at major UK festivals.

In 2003 Ramm composed a circus-inspired set of music and formed the quintet Clown Revisited. Their debut album 'Flashes Of A Normal World' (F-IRECD012) was released on 17th April 2006 (see reviews) and was launched at the Vortex Jazz Club with the help of Charli Santiago the Clown.

In 2006 he has also released a jazz quartet recording with Zhenya Striagalev on Baltic Records, recorded on Johnathan Bratoeff's Points Of Perception album (F-IRECD014) and will be heard on new releases from Seb Rochford, Finn Peters (Babel Label) and rock group Jade Fox.